Skip to Content

800th Committee

The Magna Carta 800th Anniversary Commemoration Committee was composed of members of the Magna Carta Trust and several others co-opted by the Committee:

MCT Members: Chairman: Sir Robert Worcester KBE DL (Pilgrims).

Members: Lord (John) Dyson (Chair, Magna Carta Trust), Very Rev Philip Buckler (Lincoln), Colin Carmichael (Canterbury), Mrs Margaret Charlesworth (St Edmundsbury), Daniel Goodwin – Deputy Chairman (St Albans), Robert Kahn (Law Society), Peter Kyle (English-Speaking Union), Lewis L Nielson (Chancellor National Society, Magna Charta Dames and Barons), Robert Vivian (Baronial Order of Magna Charta), Stephen Zack (ABA).

Co-opted Members: Danielle Alexandra, Frank Baldwin (Battlefields Trust), Julia Bateman (Global Law Summit), Professor Robert Blackburn (Kings College London), Dr Claire Breay (British Library), Councillor Penny Brown (Salisbury), Desmond Browne QC (Bar Council), former MCT Hon Treasurer Stuart Cawthorne, Councillor Helyn Clack (Surrey County Council), Councillor Derek Cotty (Runnymede), Ben Cowell (National Trust), Professor Scott Davidson (Lincoln), Hugh Doherty (Oxford), Leslie Dubow (English Speaking Union), Nick Durston (National Trust), Peter Farr (Lord Dyson’s Office), Professor Justin Fisher (Brunel), Nick Fluck (The Law Society), The Rev. Robbin Griffith-Jones (Temple Church), Dr Elizabeth Hallam-Smith (House of Lords), Tony Halmos (City of London), Keith Johnson, Joanna Jones (Canterbury), Robert Key (Salisbury), Lord Judge (former Chief Justice), Alex King (Kent) (Treasurer), Eleanor Laing MP, Dan Magraw (American Bar Association),  Dr. Charles C. Lucas, Jr (Baronial Order of Magna Charta); David McBride (Commonwealth Carnival of Music and Parliament Choir), Rt Hon the Lord (Tom) McNally (Youth Justice Board), Councillor Hugh Meares (Runnymede), David Michnal (Baronial Order of Magna Charta), Glyn Morgan (Hereford), Olivia Nelson (National Trust), Dr Dan Plesch (University of London), Canon Chris Pullin (Hereford Cathedral), John Pullinger (House of Commons), Len and Suzy Rodness (Magna Carta Canada); Alice Richmond – Deputy Chairman (ABA MC Committee); Councillor Geoff Rivers (St Edmundsbury), Prof Nigel Saul (Royal Holloway, University of London); Paul Seaward (History of Parliament), David Sleight (University of Lincoln), Geri Silverstone (National Trust), Greg Spring, Councillor Paul Tuley (Runnymede); MCT Hon Sec Paul Turrell (Runnymede Borough Council); Susan Walker; Sarah Walsh (Runnymede Borough Council), Harvey Watson (Battlefields Trust), Nick Wood-Dow (Chelgate), Mark Gill Executive Director).

Members of the 800th Advisory Board

Chair of Heritage Lottery Fund Dame Jenny Abramsky; Graham Allen MP; Lord Mayor of London Alderman Michael Bear; Speaker of the House of Commons Rt Hon John Bercow MP; Former Chief of Defence Staff and currently Lord Warden and Admiral of the Cinque Ports, President of the Pilgrims Society, Admiral the Lord Boyce GCB OBE DL; US Supreme Court Justice Professor Stephen Breyer; Chief Executive of the British Library Dame Lynne Brindley DBE; The Rt Rev the Lord Bishop of London Richard Chartres; HCL Global President Stephen Cardell; Lord Chancellor Rt Hon Kenneth Clarke QC MP; Supreme Court Justice of the United Kingdom Rt Hon the Lord (Tony) Clarke; British Council Chairman Vernon Ellis; Chairman of the Magna Carta Committee of Australia Air Chief Marshal David Evans; Former Lord Chancellor Rt Hon the Lord (Charlie) Falconer, QC; Former Speaker of the House of Representatives of the United States Hon Tom Foley; Chair of the Arts Council, England, Dame Liz Forgan DBE; UK Attorney-General Rt Hon Dominic Grieve QC MP; Loyd Grossman (Heritage Alliance); Lord Speaker Rt Hon the Baroness (Helene) Hayman; University of Virginia Professor A.E. Dick Howard; Former Lord Chancellor Rt Hon the Lord Irvine of Lairg; Chairman of the National Trust Sir Simon Jenkins; Former Governor of Virginia Tim Kaine; Eleanor Laing MP; Former Lord Chancellor Rt Hon the Lord Mackay of Clashfern; Former Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago and Former Chair of the Commonwealth Hon. Patrick Manning; Former First Secretary of Wales Rhodri Morgan; Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago Hon Mrs Kamla Persad-Bissessar; Supreme Court Justice of the United Kingdom Rt Hon the Lord (Nicholas) Phillips of Worth Matravers; Chairman of the Equal Opportunity Commission Trevor Philips; Dame Mary Richardson (English-Speaking Union), Mrs. Franklin D. Roosevelt, Jr., Chairman of Carlyle Group and Magna Carta private owner David Rubenstein; Former Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport, now Chairman, Environment Agency, Rt Hon the Lord (Chris) Smith of Finsbury; Former Lord Chancellor, Minister for Justice and Home Secretary, Rt Hon Jack Straw MP; Hungarian Ambassador to the UK, Peter Szabadhegy; Director-General of the BBC Mark Thompson; Professor of Medieval History, University of East Anglia Professor Nicholas Vincent; Former Chief Secretary to the Treasury, Cabinet Minister Lord Waldegrave of North Hill PC; Dean of Canterbury The Rt Rev Robert Willis; Former Chairman of the Magna Carta Trust Rt. Hon the Lord (Harry) Woolf; Marymount College Professor Kenton Worcester; Chief Executive of the Charity Commission Sam Younger and Former President of the American Bar Association and Chairmen of ABA Magna Carta Committee Stephen Zack.

Featured Article

Today is the very anniversary of the sealing of the Magna Carta, that great charter which laid down the basis for English common law, now spread throughout the world. Magna Carta gave protection of law against despotism by...

Read on...

Recent Articles

See more...

Stay updated

If you would like to keep informed about the work of the Magna Carta Trust and our partners, please sign up to the newsletter below.